24th Month into Glivec

2 years into Glivec. We are optimistic and thank God for the blessings we received to see Dad doing well. On the last CT Scan we did not see any change to the size of the tumour. It is still a piece of good news as the medication is working to suppress the growth.

At our most recent follow-up consultation with the oncologist, we were told that the tumour has after all shrunk to a safe size for surgery. However, the surgery will not be focused on one part only i.e. removal of a part of the stomach. In fact, it would also require removing a part of the liver and the adrenaline glands. Thereafter, dad may still be required to continue with the medication. Dad was stunned and I saw that he was perturbed by the news. He told the Dr that he would not consider multiple major surgeries due to age and medical condition. The Dr then advised that he should continue with the current prescription. We shall see how it goes in the next scan.

Dad is still going strong despite the GISTs. He is a happy-go-lucky guy, strong-willed and an independent man. His next CT Scan will be due in November. Continue to pray for good results….Meanwhile, he just carries on with his daily activities, never fail to exercise early in the morning on daily basis, weather permitted. Once in a while mom and him will go for a holiday or two, nearby.

On his 78th Birthday, we celebrated in the revolving restaurant at the tallest tower in the country, hosted by the owner himself. Thank you so very much, our dear friend. I was so happy to see my parents enjoying themselves, VVIP treatment at that. So did my brother, sister-in-law, niece and nephews. Missing those who couldn’t join us on that evening. Such wonderful birthday for Dad. Glad I got them to travel down to Kuala Lumpur for this special celebration. Happy Blessed Birthday, Dad and we love you lots!

If you have followed my blog posts since the beginning, you’ll know that my dad has much influence on me growing up. I am who I am because of him. He showered upon me unconditional love, support and guidance. Since very young, he thought me about responsibility, being independent, decision making, problem solving and leadership. My dad chose to teach me to fish rather than fishing for me. Thank you, Dad. You are the best! All I want is to see him happy and live a fulfilled life. Besides being a great father, he is a wonderful, loving and romantic husband to mom. He is such a rare gentleman. Loving them both to the moon and back. Cheers to love and life.

~ Alice N.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

