For the Love of Food

foodie

Since I enjoy exploring good food and writing reviews in TripAdvisor, I thought it’s a great idea to add a new category here to share my foodie experience with you. Through sharing, I hope that if you are around these areas one day, you too can check them out.

Coming up with a name is tough though. While getting stuck in a bad traffic jam traveling down south, I spent the idle time exploring the name of this new category with my two teenagers. When one agreed the other disagreed. When all of us agreed to a name, it’s either been published in Instagram or already belongs to a blog. I’m trying not to duplicate names, if at all possible. Seems that French names/words are not so freely or widely used. So, there you are! Bon Vivant!

Before your thoughts run wild, firstly, I don’t do parties. Secondly, I am not a wine connoisseur. I am a simple person who loves delicious food. But, no exotic food, please. Keep those wild animals away from me (ewww!). I’m not a vegan. I love my meat too much…But, I go on vegetarian diet from the time I awake till 7.30pm once a week.

I must qualify myself first…I am not a professional chef nor food/restaurant critic. I can cook decent dinner at home, 4 times a week like any working mom. If I were to cook following a printed recipe, I always select the ones which are simple to cook with ingredients which I am familiar with and easy to obtain.

When I make comments about places I’ve visited and food I’ve tasted, it is by my personal experience and taste for food. I know very well what I like and want, how my food should taste like and where is comfortable. If I am not satisfied, I shall explore the same food elsewhere till I find the right one with the right taste. What are my basic requirements? Clean place, staffs practicing good hygiene, good food and great service always win my heart.

I firmly believe that in order to fully enjoy a meal, the surrounding must be comforting too. A place where I can relax to enjoy the plate of sumptuous meal. It may not be expensive or a huge restaurant. I like it that the owners pays attention to little details to please their patrons. Like it even better when they mingle with us. Like it best when they are eager to know how we feel about their food and restaurant/cafe. Don’t you feel the same?

There are times when I’d go just for the food, some simply because of the cosy ambiance and some just because of the friendly owner or floor staffs. Some afternoons, I’d hang out at a cafe to do my work or blog in peace while enjoying a cuppa and snack.

To me, FOOD is the most beautiful universal language which connects people. Everyone needs food and most of us appreciate good food. You’d be surprised at the number of people on the lookout for the best of foods in town. I guess that is why you see food critics and food search apps sprouting like mushrooms. There are books published about location of local flavors! Having said that, no…I’m not jumping into the bandwagon.

I’m starting this because some of my friends read my blog. These friends are also the ones who would ask me for restaurant references once and in a while. So, I thought, if I were to record my experience here, they will be able to read and see pictures for themselves and make their choices. Easier this way as compared to trying to search for me in TripAdvisor, where I am actively reviewing hotels, restaurants and places of interests.

I hope you guys enjoy reading about my foodie experience. I live to eat, and yes, life is great! All for the love of food….

Cheers,
~ Alice N

Leave a Reply

