My Aesthetic Experience

Whenever I heard about someone going for any kind of laser treatment, I cringed at the sound of it. Made me wonder why people would be willing to pay for pain in the name of “Beauty”?!

Recently I went to see a Dermatologist for my hormonal pigmentation, which has become more and more obvious. Since I was already sitting in front of the doctor, I might as well ask him about the “dots” around my eyes. Those dots have been receiving much attention for far too long, which many people told me they were “oil seeds” and some even commented about a sign of bad cholesterol! I disagreed with them as my annual medical examinations showed excellent health. I’m certain that the medical reports are accurate.

Back to the Doctor’s room….finally, there is a name to such condition of mine; it’s called “Syringoma”. (As defined in Wikipedia, Syringomas are harmless sweat duct tumors, typically found clustered on eyelids, although they may also be found in the armpits, umbilicus, or vulva.[1]:663 They are skin-colored or yellowish firm rounded bumps, 1-3 mm in diameter). It’s hereditary.

Treatment for Syringoma is via CO2 (carbon dioxide) laser. Before I could decide to go ahead with the treatment, I consulted a very close friend, who was a nurse. She understood the condition and encouraged me to go for it. She said that the treatment is harmless and wished that I would look better for the new year. Coupled with her professional opinion and encouragement, I braced myself for my first laser treatment appointment with a renown aesthetician.

Well, the procedure was really quick. I won’t say that it’s painless. Prickly during treatment, thereafter, burning-pain sensation. I had to walk around in shades. For the first time in my life, I was in shades come day and night! Fortunately I’m living in the big glamorous city that seeing people in shades, all day long, outdoor and indoor is something no one paid much attention to. Maybe it brought some curious glances or thoughts of some celebrity or someone important trying to hide true identity behind the dark glasses. Dramatic, huh? I’m now getting used to wearing shades and can easily ignore curious stares.

Thus far, I had done two sessions of CO2 laser. The doctor said that I’d need another one to clear the rests. That means, I’d be ushering year 2012 in shades and spending the rest of the month in shades too(sigh). What a price to pay in the name of beauty….okay, negative thoughts aside, I have to focus on the end result and to complete the whole course of treatment. No turning back now.

Besides me, I found that many people with skin conditions, now go readily to consult aestheticians to improve their skin’s outlook. It’s a norm now, it no longer raises eyebrows when someone talk about laser treatment. People have continuously seeking treatment for acne, all kinds of scars, pigmentation, freckles, etc. As harmless as it gets, always remember to seek treatment from qualified medical practitioner/Dermatologist/Aesthetician.

I discovered that the price to pay for such treatments are quite affordable. Comparatively, there were times when we spent much more on our facial creams, designer bags and accessories, on our cars, etc. Why not spare some to correct a little harmless imperfection, which in return might boost our self-confidence and image? I’m not saying everyone must go under the laser but, if your doctors were to prescribe for such treatment, you may want to consider it. Of course, doctors would inform you that most conditions will re-surface after 2-3 years. Nothing is permanent

Here’s to a smoother and clearer facial outlook for the new year! Cheers to all!!!

~ Alice N.


Preview on Feedage: my-trove-%E2%80%93-relationship-and-financial-matters-a-simple

Add to My Yahoo!

Add to Google!

Add to AOL!

Add to MSN

Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Add to Netvibes

Subscribe in Pakeflakes

Subscribe in Bloglines

Add to Alesti RSS Reader

Add to Feedage.com Groups

Add to Windows Live

iPing-it

Add to Feedage RSS Alerts

Add To Fwicki

Add to Spoken to You

Leave a Reply

