A Little Bit of Kindness

This afternoon, my colleague complained to me that it is pointless to be kind. When he showed a little bit of kindness, people will take advantage of him. All I can say is that he is not alone. We face this everyday in our lives, children and adults alike.

My children are not spared too. There were times when they came back disappointed over what their friends did in return to their act of kindness. It hurt me seeing them so disappointed and sad. Wished I have a magic wand to erase that bad experience to bring back sweet, happy smiles on their faces again. I may not have the right words to say at that moment. What I know is, I must be there for them to lean on, each time they need emotional healing. Most importantly, to help them deal with these unpleasant events as they emerge.

I feel that being able to deal with it is the best solution. Face it instead of running away from it. For parents reading this, I’m sure you would be nodding in agreement. How did you try to mend that wound? What did you say or do, to make sure that they continue believing in their good deeds?

We must understand and accept that there are some people who still have not learnt how to appreciate kindness. There just are! They are only interested in taking; never in giving, unless they get something in return. Some don’t even aware of what they are doing! It’s such a pity actually….

Nonetheless, we shouldn’t let that put us off from being kind to others. Sure, there are some rotten apples in the world, who enjoy taking advantage of friendly and honest parties. Let’s not become a number to that, shall we?

Personally, I feel that when you act in kindness, it makes you feel good and makes you love yourself more. You don’t have to bother keeping score because I truly believe that the universe is with you. When you do good, your positive energy will become stronger and it will attract good energy from the universe to you. As I told my friend, even if you have to fall, or going through a rough patch, the universe will support you by making it less painful, and temporary.

If you have been kind but life gives you lemons, have faith in yourself and the universe. One of my mottos in life is, “If life serves you lemons, make lemonade out of them!” Just keep doing the right thing, don’t despair. You’ll be surprised that there is always “someone” watching over you.

I hope this brief post manages to convince you to continue showing a little bit of kindness to yourself and people around you. Be less judgmental and be more forgiving. Be less calculative and be more generous in sharing.

Here’s wishing you a wonderful weekend and enjoy more fulfilling days ahead!

~ Alice N.

Posted with WordPress for AN’s BlackBerry.

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Kindness

Leave a Reply

