SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDIL FITRI

A celebration for the Muslims worldwide; it marks the end of Ramadhan, the Islamic holy month of fasting! The holiday celebrates the conclusion of the thirty days of dawn-to-sunset fasting during the entire month of Ramadhan. The first day of Aidil Fitri therefore, falls on the first day of the month Syawal.

Here I would like to wish all my Muslim readers and friends, SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDIL FITRI! For those who will be travelling far or near, please drive safely. Have enough rest before the journey and do take it easy. Have “pit-stops” to rest in between. Enjoy the entire drive “balik kampung”. I’m sure you’ll agree with me that you can feel the festive mood the entire journey! Smile or wave ‘hello’ to fellow drivers on the road – no one would call you “crazy”, don’t worry.

I don’t have the chance to experience it but I can only imagine from what i heard from friends and movies I watched before. I’m very certain that parents would be especially happy to see their children, grandchildren and perhaps, great-grandchildren too, all under one roof. This is the time when you see the women crowding around the kitchen preparing sumptuous meals for all. I remember being told that families would be busy making ketupat and cooking them a day before the RAYA. I’m not sure if this scenario represents everyone celebrating the RAYA, but this is what I learnt from my friends in the kampung those days.

During RAYA, what I usually enjoy most is visiting my Muslim friends and helping myself to home-cooked Ketupat, Rendang, Dodol, kuih-muih, cookies, etc. I also enjoy listening to Raya songs, especially the late Sudirman’s all-time fave, “Balik Kampung“.

On this special day, may I humbly extend my hands to ask for forgiveness, if I have directly or indirectly, offended anyone in any of my posts. Please know that it is unintentional. I write from personal experience and they are also records of my thoughts, with only one intention i.e. to share with you what I know and what I have experienced.

Finally, Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri and Happy Holiday to all. Drive safely and enjoy the company of loved ones and friends. Take care.

~Alice N.

Leave a Reply

